multi-track hardware sequencer, with MIDI, analogue and USB connectivity

Hi everyone

i was wondering if the people on this forum could advise me

Basically i am currently studying Audio Engineering @ SAE Institute London and i am just about to start my final year project

I want to build a multi-track hardware sequencer, with MIDI, analogue and USB connectivity (Say for a Korg MS-20 mini)

and have decided (well for now at least) to base it somewhat on a Sequentix Cirklon sequencer.
Please see the links below for the necessary information and functionality of this particular sequencer.

SEQUENTIX - CIRKLON WEBSITE
http://www.sequentix.com/cirklon.htm

CIRKLON OPERATING SYSTEM TUTORIALS

As maybe some of you can tell im really at the preliminary stage of my research

So maybe people can help me answer some of the questions or at least point me in the right direction

1. was i correct to buy an Arduino Mega 2560 to power the sequencer?
  2. what is the maximum amount of MIDI ports i can have with an Arduino (5 is what im striving for)
  3. what should i be initially researching
  4. whats the most efficient way to learn the programming language to get this sequencer functional
  5. if i wanted to do MIDI as well as control voltage (CV) what would this involve? is it PWM??

any assistance on these questions or any offered relevant information, would be extremely helpful!!

Thanks
Nick

any help people?

Hi Nick!

While searching for any news about the next production run at sequentix, which hopefully includes my ordered Cirklon, I found your post. As I'm electronics engineer and also dreaming about doing something similar, I can give you some answers.

1. was i correct to buy an Arduino Mega 2560 to power the sequencer?