Multiple 18650 charging using one board

Hello, i'm a bit new to using batteries in my projects but i do know that if i connect the + to each other and - to each other on multiple batteries they act as one battery and won't add up the voltage per battery. Therefore the voltage stays at 3.7V no matter how many 18650 i add together but will i need to have a charging board (tp4056) for each battery or can i just use one board and it will charge all batteries at once?

• Thanks!

...but i do know that if i connect the + to each other and - to each other on multiple batteries they act as one battery and won't add up the voltage per battery. Therefore the voltage stays at 3.7V no matter how many 18650 i add together...

You shouldn't put batteries in parallel, especially rechargeable batteries. They will never be "exactly equal" and one battery can discharge into the other which is not efficient and could potentially damage the batteries and maybe overheat and start a fire!

You can put batteries in parallel if you add a diode on each battery to prevent reverse current, but you'll get a voltage-drop across the diode (0.7V for a regular silicon diode) and you'd have to bypass the diodes for charging.

In series, the voltage will add-up but the current capability (and Amp-hours) remains the same.

will i need to have a charging board (tp4056) for each battery or can i just use one board and it will charge all batteries at once?

You can probably charge the batteries in series with one charger circuit. Normal battery packs are wired in series and they are charged at once. (Lithium batteries are "tricky" and I'm not a battery charging expert.)

hmm. All 6-cell HP_laptop_batteries has 2 cells parallel. Works perfectly OK

6-cell HP_laptop_batteries has 2 cells parallel

Yes, But.

Cells matched by the manufacturer, from the same manufacturing batch are probably OK...

Other: 18650's have a built-in chip that does some protection. Research that some more...