Multiple rgb leds controlled by transistors

I am making an rgb led colour mixer, which utilises a 10k potentiometer and 4 rgb leds. The rgb leds are common cathode, and thus have r,g,b pins along with a GND pin. I know that the arduino itself cannot power 4 leds as there is not enough amperage (apologies if i sprout garbage out my mouth, I am still very new to this), so I have got my hands on a 4×AA battery pack and some 548 NPN transistors. I have built the project on a breadboard and an Arduino UNO. It works fine but I am worried that I have missed something as this is my first project (ever). Will this burn out the arduino/leds somehow? Thanks.

Breadboard:
http://puu.sh/l8INg/e9354ab63b.png

int redPin = 9;
int greenPin = 10;
int bluePin = 11;
int potPin = A0;
int val = 0;

void setup()
{
 pinMode(redPin, OUTPUT);
 pinMode(greenPin, OUTPUT);
 pinMode(bluePin, OUTPUT);

Serial.begin(9600);
}

void loop()
{
 //Pot reader
 val = analogRead(potPin);
 Serial.println(val);

//Red orange yellow green
 if ( val <= 341 )
 {
  //We now know the val is between 0 and 341.
  //Map the val to 0-255 for the LED.
  val = map(val, 0, 341, 0, 255);

//Higher val turns red down.
  //Lower val turns red up (common anode).
  analogWrite(redPin, val);

//Write the complimentary amount to the green pin.
  //The mixed color values add up to 255.
  //This keeps the LED at constant brightness.
  analogWrite(greenPin, 255-val);

//Turn blue pin off.
  analogWrite(bluePin, 255);
 }

//Green-teal-blue spectrum
 else if ( val <= 683 )
 {
  //We now know the val is between 341 and 683.
  val = map(val, 341, 683, 0, 255);

//Higher val turns green down.
  //Lower val turns green up (common anode).
  analogWrite(greenPin, val);

//Write the complimentary amount to the blue pin.
  analogWrite(bluePin, 255-val);

//Turn red pin off.
  analogWrite(redPin, 255);
 }

//Blue-indigo-purple-red spectrum.
 else
 {
  //We now know the val is between 683 and 1023.
  val = map(val, 683, 1023, 0, 255);