nature aquarium

Hello, I am an avionics technician in the aviation field so I have some understanding of electrical circuits and theory but I am new to programming. Since discovering arduino I have come up with the idea of a nature aquarium. The idea of this aquarium would be to mimic, as closely as possible, a biotope of my choosing. I am currently in the process of researching the Amazonian waters and their fluctuations. I am interested in simulating all the seasons and relative water chemistry. Interaction with the aquarium would be very minimal. The following are the things I hope to accomplish:

Real time keeping

Multicolored LEDs on top and sides to mimic Sun and moon cycle. Interested in warm white and blue lighting to traverse across the aquarium on a 24 hr cycle as the sun and moon would

Ph meter

Rain simulator to agitate the water surface

Dissolved oxygen meter

Temperature control to mimic different times of day and year

The objective being to observe more natural behavior in aquarium fishes. Would love to hear your ideas and advice. Thanks in advance!

Start by doing some searching in the forum. There have been plenty of "aquarium controller" topics posted so you should be able to find a good starting point to build from. I don't recall dissolved oxygen meter, that may be a new feature. Rain simulator, that sounds unique as well. Rest seems somewhat typical.

Depending on how big this aquarium is, i would suggest using neopixels. They are RGB so that covers all color options you would ever need. Diffusor paper could be used to soften the light and more evenly distribute the glow.