Need Help Installing USB Drivers

Hello,

I recently purchased an Arduino Duemlanove from eBay. I downloaded the Arduino software and went to install the USB drivers and received an error 'The system can not find the specified file.'. Tried diffrent approaches etc. but no luck.

When I connect the Arduino board to the USB port the power LED illuminates as expected and a red LED located near the RX/TX LEDs flashes rapidly.

The platform I am trying to install the drivers on is Windows XP SP3.

I should let you know I am new to this and I could be overlooking something very obvious.

Frustrated, please help! :o

Regards,

Leo

Unzip the download file before you do anything else, if you're trying to run it from within a windows 'zip folder' it will probably fail. It depends how your system is setup to handle zip files.

I did as you suggested before attempting to install the USB drivers. I should of been more clear. I can not stand when XP gives a super generalized error message. It would be easier if I knew what file it could not find. ARG! Sorry a big fan of DIY electronics and hacks and the Arduino was the holy grail for me, never had one. I only could read about what it could do on the net.

Any help is appreciated!

What I would do is firstly extract just the FTDI drivers from the Zip file into its own folder on your desktop. Then go into device manager and find the errant device (it should have a yellow exclamation mark at the side of it) and and right click 'Update Driver' and then point it at the driver folder on your desktop. It takes the Install script out of the equation.

USB driver is a very grandiose name for what amounts to a USB to serial convertor. Sometimes Linux is just too easy (The standard kernel has had FTDI drivers built in for years).

Ok I give, this is becomming frustrating. Same result as before. Would the flashing red LED on the Arduino board indicate anything ?

Did you have any indication of the USB device in Device Manager ?