NOOB HERE: Controlling DC motor via digital pin HELP

Hi Everyone !

University project is underway and we need to build a robot for a specific action. We have decided to use 3 dc motors and 2 of them are working fine at the moment and we shouldnt have any problems.

We are using arduino UNO and a motor shield. 2 DC motors are being controlled by channels A and B on the motor shield and now we are at the stage of working out how to control a third DC motor via a digital pin (either pin 5,6,10).

We have been told to investigate MOSFET as we will need one of them to make this happen ?

Any suggestions or help on controlling a dc motor (small one- 12V or less) via a digital pin would be appreciated.

Cheers

BTW- We are noobs and want to keep this as simple as possible.

THANKS 8)

One of these:

across the motor leads with the banded cathode end of the diode on the + terminal of the motor , and the other end on the - term of the motor,
and one of these:

Connect motor + terminal to motor power + terminal
Connect motor - terminal to DRAIN of mosfet
Connect SOURCE of mosfet to motor power GND
Connect arduino GND to motor power GND
Connect arduino PWM output (for speed control) to mosfet GATE
analogWrite(MosfetGate,100); (39% duty cycle) (1/3 rd power) (Warp 2 for you trekies)
analogWrite(MosfetGate,255); (100% duty cycle) (FULL power) (Warp 6 for you trekies)
Connect arduino DIGITAL output to mosfet GATE
For simple ON FULL/OFF control use

digitalWrite(MosfetGate, HIGH);

It's a mosfet not a transistor so it doesn't need a current limiting resistor but many designers like to use a 1k series resistor just
to protect the gate anyway.

IRL640A-87605.pdf (774 KB)

FQPF30N06L-244348.pdf (831 KB)

If the third motor needs to run in both directions then another H-bridge is needed, perhaps
a separate L298 board (cheap on eBay), although they aren't efficient at low voltages.

Its work looking to see if anyone makes a 4-channel motor shield, that would clearly be
ideal.