Not all LEDs coming on, and all not responding

I have recently just bought a new WS2812 LED Strip of 150 LEDs at 30/m

I have a problem that when I plug in the LEDs, only 6 of them at the beginning (but not adjacent to on another) come on and have no reaction to the data line input from my Arduino
pictures will be attached an in replies that will show how everything is wired.
I am new to Imgur so hopefully this link works!
here is the code for the arduino

// Simple NeoPixel test.  Lights just a few pixels at a time so a
// 1m strip can safely be powered from Arduino 5V pin.  Arduino
// may nonetheless hiccup when LEDs are first connected and not
// accept code.  So upload code first, unplug USB, connect pixels
// to GND FIRST, then +5V and digital pin 6, then re-plug USB.
// A working strip will show a few pixels moving down the line,
// cycling between red, green and blue.  If you get no response,
// might be connected to wrong end of strip (the end wires, if
// any, are no indication -- look instead for the data direction
// arrows printed on the strip).

#include <Adafruit_NeoPixel.h>

#define PIN      11
#define N_LEDS 150

Adafruit_NeoPixel strip = Adafruit_NeoPixel(N_LEDS, PIN, NEO_GRB + NEO_KHZ800);

void setup() {
  strip.begin();
}

void loop() {
  chase(strip.Color(255, 0, 0)); // Red
  chase(strip.Color(0, 255, 0)); // Green
  chase(strip.Color(0, 0, 255)); // Blue
}

static void chase(uint32_t c) {
  for(uint16_t i=0; i<strip.numPixels()+4; i++) {
      strip.setPixelColor(i  , c); // Draw new pixel
      strip.setPixelColor(i-4, 0); // Erase pixel a few steps back
      strip.show();
      delay(25);
  }
}

I was very alarmed to see that you had apparently connected your 5 V supply to pin 11 of the Arduino! :astonished:

But you have swapped the two colours in the JST connector. Whew! :roll_eyes:

A very strange thing to do!

Just try setting N_LEDS to 100. I seem to recall that 150 is too much for an Arduino UNO/ Nano/ Pro Mini.