Pin designations on different boards....

I have been creating with Arduino boards for about two years now and having a blast. It’s been mostly the Uno, and a couple of smaller, REAL ARDUINO boards, and everything has been great.

I ordered some (non-true-Arduino) Pro Micros (ATMEGE32U4). They work great for my purposes, HOWEVER…

Trying to implement some RF24L01 radio boards into this project has now become… “challenging”.

They work PERFECTLY on the Unos (surprisingly easy). However… the connections on these little Micro boards…

According to the documentation/pin labeling… the SCK/MISO/MOSI pins on these little boards are 16/14/15 (see attached).

But according to all of the tutorials and help I have read, these radios “MUST” be connected to pins 13/12/11 which are the SCK/MISO/MOSI pins.

First of all, there are no 13/12/11 pins indicated on these boards.

I… confused… what?.. over-thinking?.. over-complicating?

Ouch. My brain.

SPI pins Pro Micro

But according to all of the tutorials and help I have read, these radios "MUST" be connected to pins 13/12/11 which are the SCK/MISO/MOSI pins.

It’s simple. The tutorials were done for atMega328 chip rather than the atMega32U4. Change the chip, the physical pins change, it’s the function of those pins that does not change.

The only MUST that matters is that the radios be connected to the hardware SPI pins for the actual processor you’re using. Confusion is optional.

BTW, there is a photo type pinout, like the one Larryd posted, for just about every Arduino board ever made. If you look at the pro mini pinout, which uses the atMega328, you can see where the hardware SPI pins are located.

One last thought: Don’t confuse physical processor pin numbers with Arduino pin numbers, they are different. Pin numbers, like the SPI function pins, are always the Arduino pin numbers, the numbers you would use in a function call to read or set the state of a pin.

Okie dokie. Thanks!