Power source control for Ebike (two seperate batteries)

Hi everyone,
I am relatively new to electronics, but I have to build a µC based circuit, which will select the power source (one of two 36V Li-Ion batteries) for the ebike controller. I have come up with the circuit below, but I am not sure if this will work. I know that these batteries are dangerous, so I will probably implement ideal diodes on the high sides. What I am not sure about is, if the adc measurement and n-channel mosfets (Nexperia Buk962r5-60e) will operate with the the shared GND with diodes between the batteries. I haven’t determined all of the values yet, as I need to know, if I am on the right path.

There should only be one batterie attached at all times !

Thank you guys!

Is this a class assignment?

IF not, why not put both batteries in parallel?

IF not, why not use a SPDT switch to change batteries?

If this is an assignment, what conditions will cause the batteries to be switched?

Paul

Yes this is part of a big assignment.

The idea is to model this after a dual battery system by bosch, which switches between the two batteries, if the voltage difference is bigger than 10 %

I have updated the schematic, so I can have a common ground and implemented an ideal diode with an LTC4357.

Thanks

IRF512 is a very poor choice.

800 milliohm on-resistance. That's way too large for a high current switch. Think 5 milliohm sort of
value.

And its not logic-level so you can't drive it with 5V at all.

Perhaps you should change your diagram to match the better device you name in the posting BUK962R5-60E ? That's still probably too small, being surface mount it can't have a decent
heatsink fitted. TO247 package is a more plausible size for this sort of application, TO220 might
do at a pinch.

What is the maximum and what is the continuous current rating you need?