Powering 12v led

Hi...I'm Powering an arduino uno through usb from computer. It will be connected to addressable led string of 25 lights. Is an ULN2003A connected to Arduino pwm output pin and 12v power supply an acceptable way to power the lights? Do I need any other components?

No, with addressable leds, you just need to connect the power lines of the strip directly to your 12V power supply, and the data-in line of the strip to an Arduino pin using a resistor (e.g.330R). No pwm outputs or transistors/fets required, because these are provided by the chips in the strip. However a large cap (e.g. 1000uF) across the power lines is a good idea. You must also connect the grounds of the Arduino and the 12V supply.

Thanks! I'm a little unclear about when I would need a transistor or like. I thought (I'm brand new to this) that I needed something that would allow the 5v of arduino to "fire" the 12v leds... ?
So im clear, the cap would go across the + and - of the 12v power supply as close to the leds? And a 330 ohm resistor from the Arduino pin to data input of leds?
Thanks again for your input and help!

Or would I only need one if I was using single-colour led's that don't have a data-In wire?

The key thing is that your strip is addressable. Addressable strips have chips on the strip or built in to the leds themselves. These chips mean that you don't need transistors or pwm outputs from the Arduino. The 5V addressable strips usually have the chips built into the leds and you can individually control each led. On the 12V addressable strips you can usually see the chips on the strip and leds are controlled in groups of 3.

Ordinary single colour and non-adressable rgb strips don't have these chips built in, so then you need the transistors & pwm Arduino outputs.