Powering 12v linear actuators with L9110s

So I am currently planning a project where I have 3 linear DC actuators controlled by an arduino by using L9110s to modulate the speed and direction. My question is will the L9110s function normally if I am giving them power externally at 12V and then using a 5V pwm from the arduino to control them, will this work? or will the L9110s not behave properly if it is receiving different voltages at the power and the signal. I am quite new to electronics so please correct me if I have made wrong assumptions and any help is appreciated, thanks

Datasheet says TTL/CMOS compatible inputs, so 5V PWM from Arduino should be OK.
No experience otherwise with these, so can't comment on if what you're trying to do makes sense.

Hi, @mannyduino
Welcome to the forum.

Please read the post at the start of any forum , entitled "How to use this Forum".

Can you post a link to data/specs of the linear actuators?
We need to see if they are able to be controlled by the L9110.

Thanks.. Tom... :smiley: :+1: :coffee: :australia:

sorry here is the link to the L9110s: http://me.web2.ncut.edu.tw/ezfiles/39/1039/img/617/L9110_2_CHANNEL_MOTOR_DRIVER.pdf

and the actuator: https://docs.rs-online.com/82dd/0900766b814ad9e0.pdf

Hi,
Thanks for the links;

Tom... :smiley: :+1: :coffee: :australia:

Hi,
Driver specs;

Tom... :smiley: :+1: :australia:

Actually the L9110 datasheet is awful, the VIL and VIH entries make no sense at all, so I'd couldn't hazard a guess. Its not even clear if the 12V is the abs max supply voltage or the maximum operating voltage.

Hi,

I would say that 12V is the maximum supply voltage for the IC.

This it seems means if you have a supply that is greater than 5V, it will accept 5V logic on its input pins.

Note you loose 9 - 7.6 = 1.4V across the controller.
At 650mA stall current form the motor specs.
1.4 x .65 = 0.91 Watts dissipation in the L9110 for EACH half of the h-bridge.

So total dissipation = 2 x 0.91 = 1.82Watts.