Problem with Arduino Tutorial "Controlling a Digital Potentiometer Using SPI"

Hello,

I am pretty new to Arduino (and electronics in general). I have completed several of the tutorials here http://arduino.cc/en/Tutorial without a problem.

But when I try the tutorial "Controlling a Digital Potentiometer Using SPI" (http://arduino.cc/en/Tutorial/SPIDigitalPot) I just cannot get it to work.

I have checked and double checked the connections on my breadboard. I am using a AD5206 chip from Digikey (http://search.digikey.com/scripts/DkSearch/dksus.dll?Detail&name=AD5206BN10-ND) and a Boarduino (http://www.ladyada.net/make/boarduino/).

I have no idea what the problem is or where to start with the troubleshooting (other than checking and re-checking the connections which I have done several times).

Can anyone give me some advice?

Thanks

Does the LED marked D3 glow when the sample sketch is running? The D13 pin it's connected to doubles as the SPI clock pin so you should see at least a faint glow when data is being sent to the AD5206.

Hey thanks for the quick reply.

The pin 13 LED only lights up when the sketch is being uploaded to the Arduino. At the point when the Arduino should be communicating with the AD5206 the pin 13 LED doesn’t light up at all.

I am wondering whether the sketch provided with the tutorial actually sets things up completely?

Again, any help of direction is much appreciated. I pasted the sketch below for ease of reference.

Thanks, Malik

/*
  Digital Pot Control

This example controls an Analog Devices AD5206 digital potentiometer.
  The AD5206 has 6 potentiometer channels. Each channel's pins are labeled
  A - connect this to voltage
  W - this is the pot's wiper, which changes when you set it
  B - connect this to ground.

The AD5206 is SPI-compatible,and to command it, you send two bytes, 
 one with the channel number (0 - 5) and one with the resistance value for the
 channel (0 - 255).  

The circuit: