Problem with serial communication from ATmega328p on vero board to uno R3 board

So let me just preface this by stating that i am still pretty new to using Arduino and also new to soldiering on prototype boards.

So i just finished testing my project on an Arduino UNO R3 board + breadboard and everything was working perfectly.

So i decided to try my first prototype board and I am pretty certain of most connections that i soldiered.

BUT I have been having an issue debugging my project at this point, so I soldered some header pins so i could make a serial connection (TX, RX) between ATMEGA328p and UNO R3 board (with no chip), and from the UNO R3 board to the computer.

I followed a couple of different guides and the everything is partially working.

So now i can successfully uploaded sketches to the ATMEGA328p on the prototype board but when i try to open a serial communication window I just get gobbly goock.

I double checked baud rates and they all seem fine (i attached any image of the serial window with the code window in the background with the baud rate being set).

I have also attached a pic of project but it kinda messy so not sure if it helps.

This is the link of guide i used for connecting the tx and rx pins. (https://www.arduino.cc/en/Tutorial/ArduinoToBreadboard).

Any pointers or help is greatly appreciated, i fully expect i have done something stupid.

You need to post all your code.

Normally when using strip board the components are not wired on the strip side but the other side.

I attached the code. Thanks for the reply.

code.txt (2.78 KB)

Thanks for the code, but it is not posted correctly, it needs to be pasted into the reply and not attached like you have done unless it is too long. Click on the </> icon at the top left and paste the code between the two braces that pop up.

As to the code I am a bit worried that you are using digital pins to provide power to a device, that is a very bad idea.