Project Help - Capacitive Touch sensor

Hi guys

I am an absolute beginner and have never used Arduino before. I have ambitiously decided to use Arduino for a uni project. The idea of the project is to use a plant as a controller to trigger sounds using a hand built capacitive sensor, Arduino Uno and the Arduino IDE and Processing software. I have been following the instructions from this blog>>> https://www.fastcompany.com/3026612/hacking-house-plants-to-make-music-when-theyre-touched

I think I have found the correct codes for Arduino and Processing through links to github on this site>>>https://www.instructables.com/id/Touche-for-Arduino-Advanced-touch-sensing/

I have copied the Arduino code into the IDE software but when I try to run the sketch it sais that 'N' was not declared in this scope. I am also unsure what part of the code on Github I should copy into Processing.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. I understand that I am completely incompetent in this field and have already been berated by experts, so please go easy! I have included a few pictures that may help.

Thanks,

Jake

Deceivingly simple looking.

The code the Instructable links to appears incomplete. Pin 9 is set to OUTPUT, but never set HIGH or LOW. It looks like they try to use a timer interrupt for this, but the whole ISR is missing.

It does look like a neat trick.

I think it works like this (skimmed the article, info is thin). L1 and C2 are excited by a block wave generated by pin 9, producing a sine wave between the two. D1 is a half wave rectifier, 1N1418 is a great choice for its fast reverse recovery. R3/C1 are a low pass filter, basically stabilising the voltage coming out of the L1/C2 circuit, and that in turn is read by the A0 and turned into a tone.

Now for your problem: as you forgot to post your code (as in: YOUR code, and do use code tags) can't say anything about it.

Thanks for taking a look. Forgive me, but how do I find out what my code is?