reading car's fuel gauge signal with arduino uno

Hello! Im new with arduino and wanna ask for help. My goal is to read analog values from fuel float and print values on the display which would be driven by arduino.

Im using arduino uno. My car has 2 wires going to dash (gnd and signal). AFAIK, arduino could accept only 5V on i/o ports… Im thinking about using voltage divider but not sure how? between gnd and signal wires?? My fuel gauge works by reading resistance, so somehow i need to read resistance from signal wire if im correct?

My wiring concept is:

Car’s manual says:

It looks like the tank sensor is sending a signal to the ECU which then sends a signal to the fuel gauge. While they present Ohms the reality is a voltage based on resistance. The tank sensor is likely getting some excitation and sending a voltage proportional to fuel level in the tank.

Also where they mention Ohms note that a full tank is about 0 to 6 Ohms and an empty tank 295 to 315 Ohms which tells me the tank out is not linear. If I say 0 Ohms is full and 300 Ohms is empty then 150 Ohms would be 1/2 tank which it isn't.

What you need to do is actually get the voltages and see what they actually are then worry about voltage dividing if necessary and finally map the non linear voltages to a tank level.

Ron

Now i've checked resistance of those 2 wires, it was ~140ohms (fuel level in the tank is less than 1/2, so readings are correct). Now im thinking to connect ground wire to arduino ground and signal wire to arduino's analog pin?

the voltage between +12v and signal wire is 0.1V, so it's safe to connect directly to arduino. Thanks!

You want to measure between the signal wire and ground. The analog input(s) of an Arduino are 0 - 5 Volts max. That assumes running it on 5 V and using the 5 V reference. If between ground and your signal wire it exceeds 5 volts then you need a simple divider. YOu also need to see if the signal is non-linear.

Ron

void setup()
{
 Serial.begin(2400);