Relay amperage output control with PWM?

Hi,

Thank you in advance for your help. I am new to Arduino world so please forgive my ignorance.

I have a 5500W heater that sits on a 240VAC line with 30A breaker I control manually using Fotek SSR-40VA with potentiometer. I would like to automate this process and control the output of this SSR amperage using PWM. So in a nutshell I want to convert the variable dc control output from Arduino to variable resistance and map it to this particular relay.

Is it possible with this relay and Arduino Uno?

What would be the best approach?

Thank you!!

You can't use PWM with a SSR. It is either ON or OFF. There is no phase control. You would need a TRIAC phase controller with devices rated for the voltages and currents required.

So in a nutshell I want to convert the variable dc control output from Arduino to variable resistance and map it to this particular relay. Would MOSFET be a part of a circuit?

I presume this is your way of saying you want to build an AC phase controller.
http://playground.arduino.cc/Main/ACPhaseControl

https://www.google.com/search?q=220+Vac+40A+triac+phase+control&biw=1426&bih=951&tbm=isch&tbo=u&source=univ&sa=X&ei=fKoxVNH0HaXNiwL9goC4DQ&ved=0CD4QsAQ#facrc=&imgdii=&imgrc=YgRXY-CHVpeCdM%253A%3BUziX0l_2eAbiGM%3Bhttp%253A%252F%252Fi.stack.imgur.com%252FHfZaM.png%3Bhttp%253A%252F%252Felectronics.stackexchange.com%252Fquestions%252F45035%252Ftriac-dimmer-circuit-design-help-resistive-load%3B1038%3B300

http://www.nuwaveproducts.com/ssrman-1p.htm?gclid=CjwKEAjw2MOhBRCq-Nr87_j-lDASJAAl4FNhARBIO6Qfr1Vr43OO3rsY8RhHil90cxDAweDU6qqJhxoCwi7w_wcB

http://www.thefind.com/appliances/info-triac-phase-control

http://ccipower.com/products/index.php?gclid=CjwKEAjw2MOhBRCq-Nr87_j-lDASJAAl4FNhNJ_7UxtpVXStc9aJf6N7tcJ-_Ya3hPLKz0eRZq-YtxoCpDLw_wcB

http://www.nxp.com/documents/application_note/APPCHP6.pdf