RGB LEDs and Matrix's need advice.

Hello i'm very new to electronics i got my arduino last month i have been looking at different chips like the TLC5940 and the standard shift register that adafruit sells. I've recently have been quite frustrated trying to figure out how to control RGB LEDs. I have looked at the Shift PWM library but alas it seems to be a complicated and well i can't figure it out on my own. I just got some TLC5916's in the mail but can't figure it out The closest I have been to getting a row of RGB leds is using the TLC5940 but alas the library i have been for the TLC5940 seems to not be straight forward for beginners. I'm not sure how to go about learning how to do this, I wanted to make my own row of RGB LEDs that were programmable to make patterns and such and eventually a programmable RGB matrix. both with some sort of control through my computer.

Does anyone have any tips or ideas on what I can do to accomplish this as a learning process and end up with a sweet project?
It does seem i'm kinda late to the arduino party, I can't seem to find any groups at my college or in my city that do arduino stuff, so i'm kinda lost.

Any Help or information is appreciated Thank you all for your time and knowledge.

1 Like

I think for simplicity, the preassembled neo-pixel is a very good option and the library works very well with most of the legit arduino boards. You can get them mounted on a disc-like surface, or straight up SMD to compact them down in whatever arrangement you want. If you're not doing commercial work, I think this is a good start, and yes, you're project will look sweet.

Browse for CancunManny, I drafted a 3 row x 10 column matrix with two TLC5940 for him, you can add some more more rows in parallel to make yours 8 x 10, or drop a couple columns to have 8x8.

Or get a mess of the WS2812 combined driver/LEDs chip as bosleymusic suggested, and send out 64 LEDs x 3 bytes every frame and have 256 levels of brightness control per LED.