RN-41 Bluetooth Questions

Hey guys,

I'm a bit of a newbie and have a few questions that if I knew the answer to I think would really help me out. I've done quite a bit of reading/research here and on the web in general and decided it was time to ask some people who know the answers.

The board I'm using is the arduino uno. I got the board and software all setup, have made/run a few programs with multiple motors/servos, LEDs, buttons, etc. and decided it was time to move on to figuring out the bluetooth connection I will need for my project.

Not knowing too much about the parts and specs, I did my best sorting through data sheets and information and settled on purchasing the RN-41 module mounted on a breakout board.

Soon I found "Wireless communication with PC and Arduino board using bluetooth" at arduino playground (http://arduino.cc/playground/Learning/Tutorial01) and followed that to get up and running. Problem is- I can’t get it to work.

The software loads onto the arduino fine. I got the control panel on the computer working after some time getting the COM port set and recognized in the program(also made sure its on SPP) and getting a ‘stable system’ message when ran. (went through a rxtx mismatch thing I found online)

My questions are:

1. Does the RX pin have to be connected to the TX pin on the arduino for the module to work if I am only sending information for the Bluetooth to output to the arduino? (I have avoided doing this because I know the RN-41 works on a 3.3 V input and the arduino pins are at 5V which I haven’t manage to resolve yet)

2. Is it safe to use the 3.3V output on the arduino to power the RN-41? The max output for the arduino 3.3V pin is 40mA. The RN-41 has typical rated values of 30mA connected, 35mA RX supply current and 65mA TX supply current. Obviously 65mA>40mA, but will running this setup just limit the range on the Bluetooth or actually cause damage to the arduino?