Simulator suggestions

I am new to Arduino and fried my first one because I am connected it wrong. I am looking for a simulator where I can drag and drop parts, program my arduino and then test it. I have looked at Wokwi and it is good, but there is no troubleshooting on it. So if I connect things wrong, I dont have a way to measure current on the line.

Fritzing is another one I looked at and this one I cant develop on it. It is strictly for PCB Design.

I am looking for a simulator that has the following:
Develop on the simulator
Drag and drop parts, ie: Breadboard, LED, Sesors, etc...
Troubleshoot options, ie: figure out how much current each lead line has to determine where my issue is. If I connect things wrong, I would like for the system to tell me that I connected it wrong and it would blow up in real life.
Also be able to set resistor values.

I have several project in mind that I would like to practice on, but A I dont have all the parts and B even if I did I dont know enough yet and feel confident that I wont break another Arduino and/or fry any of the part I buy.

Is there an simulator out there that has these options available. I am ok with paying for something like this.

1 Like

I don't think that's possible. For example, LEDs can work as a light source when connected normally but can also be used as light sensors when connected in reverse. Also, the microcontroller pins are software controlled and I don't see how any simulator will know exactly what you want to do and tell you what you've done wrong.

Wokwi and Tinkercad. The rest is annoying.

Wokwi is only digital, but it is actively developed. The breadboard is not yet available, but it is almost ready. I think that it will take a few more weeks for the makers of Wokwi.

Tinkercad can also simulate a analog circuit, and you can add voltmeters and current meters. There are a number of known bugs for years that are not solved.