TMP36 Sensor

Hello,

I'll get straight to the point, I'm trying to create a relay to turn on and off a light bulb - controlled by a TMP36 temperature sensor. I am a complete beginner. My sensor is outputting negative values, and are incredibly in accurate.

My code is as follows, I've also attached my schematic below.

int sensorPin = A0;
int relay = 6;
void setup()
{

• Serial.begin(9600);*
  • pinMode(relay, OUTPUT);*
    }

*void loop() *
{

• int reading = analogRead(sensorPin); *
    _ float voltage = reading * 5.0;_
  • voltage /= 1024.0;*
  • Serial.print(voltage); Serial.println(" volts");*
    _ float temperatureC = (voltage - 0.5) * 100 ;_
  • Serial.print(temperatureC); Serial.println(" degrees C");*
  • if (temperatureC <= 25)*
  • {*
  • digitalWrite(relay, HIGH);*
  • }*
  • else*
  • {*
  • digitalWrite(relay, LOW);*
  • }*
    delay(1000);
    }

The temperature sensor does not seem to be working well with the relay, and I'm not sure whether I have the code correct for that.

How do I get the sensor to output the correct values, and is my code correct for it to communicate with the relay?

Thank you anyone who can help.

What temperature are you getting (after 5 minutes of hands-off)? :slight_smile:

My sensor is outputting negative values, and are incredibly in accurate.

Unfortunately incredibly inaccurate doesn't say much, a few well defined numbers would help considerably.

This is a good place to get some sample code. Take note of both sample code examples with a focus on getting better precision using a 3.3 volt reference. I have used the latter with good results.

I would start with the first sample example and then enter your "If" statements. Another good example of using the If Else statements may be found here. That last example includes the use of buttons to increment and decrement a set point Up & Down including putting it all on a display. You can modify the code to work for your application.

Ron