Try to build a flightsim button box (DCS, MSFS Etc)

Hi
Im new to Arduino. I understand the electrical part/wiring (I think, but i still have questions about it). But im new to the software/programing part.
My intension is to build a “buttonbox” that can be used in different flightsims. After a lot of research I guess the best option is to use an Arduino MEGA 2560; and use some code named “MEGAJOY”?
In my box I want to have the following:
1 joystick (for guiding bombs and locking round whit the gun turret)
5 rotary encoders whit buttons (quadrature encoder ?)
10 switches ON/OFF
10 switches ON/OFF/ON
10 buttons
Im thinking: 2 or 4 pins for the joystick; 3 pins for each rotory encoder x5; 7 pin for the ON/OFF ; 12 pins for the ON/OFF/ON; 7 pin for the button = 45 pins ?
Max 26 digital pins for buttons, ON/OFF/ON and ON/OFF ? Can I use any digital pins for the buttons? 22-53? (se the image)

Rotary encoders need 3 pins (except + and -) 3 digital pins?
On the joystick im lost on what pins it needs, I would like the joystick to be sensitive to how much you move it in a certain direction. For example moving a little to the left gives full left direct (not ideal).
Is it possible to program all this in to one MEGA 2560 and to get windows to recognize all the buttons, switches, rotary encoders and the joystick ?
I have no clue if this even is possible, because I have not found anyone doing a box whit all this. Is it possible? Without delay issues or likewise. For me this is the ultimate flighsim buttonbox.
Then is it plausible that I will be able to “copy/paste” a code to get this running ?

I'm a newbie so please take my comments with a pinch of salt.

1. I'd rather start with something simpler. Get a breadboard, a small arduino and play with the individual components you want to implement in your full project.