Turn Capacitive Touch Sensor into a Coin Detector

Hello Forum,

Just as a warning, I am brand new to the Arduino and everything else that relates. I am slowly learning and enjoying the process as I go. I bought the Arduino UNO starter kit, along with other small packages to keep my ideas growing.

I have been tinkering with touch sensors lately, and trying to figure out the best way to read the metal of a coin either by the small difference in conductivity, capacity, or resistance and then output the type of coin that has been placed on the conductive surface.

(It is important to the idea I have, that the coins must be placed on a flat metallic/conductive surface.)

Example:

• Place a quarter on the conductive surface. Input changes from constant/near constant of 200? to 500?. Arduino reads the difference as 300? and associates it with a quarter. Output = “This is a quarter”.

I have been using online tutorials to build out simple versions of these sensors, but have had no luck in recording small enough changes in values.

QUESTIONS:

1. Is this something that sounds possible to do with the Arduino UNO?

2. If so, what is the best way to go about it?

Thanks,
Nick

Coins are normally told apart by size and/or weight.

Conductivity will pretty much the same for all different types (a hair over 0Ω - depending on how much dirt, grime, corrosion and other high-resistance stuff has built up on the surface). Capacitance - well a coin doesn't have much of that either. You can't get much further than "coin" vs "no coin".

Conductivity = 1/resistance

as well as size and other possibilities, I’d try running an electromagnet under the coin, and measuring the distortion of the field above.

Different sizes, alloys and shapes will give you a pretty good starting point.

1. Is this something that sounds possible to do with the Arduino UNO?

Just to make it clear the way you propose will not work.