Updated circuit: Feedback on the ESP32 circuit (switch debouncing), please?

Hello lovely people,

I'm a software developer by trade and recently got into home automation. After much delibration and (re)searching, I ended up using an ESP32 with A4988 stepper motor controller to control a NEMA 17, that'll drive a timing belt to open/close the curtains.

I made the basic circuit work (using only 2/3 input pins on the A4988 driver) but this is the final version I decided on.

• I'll use all the input pins on the driver
  • There's a limit switch that'll tell me when the curtain is in open position.
  • Two other push buttons for manual control to turn the circuit on/off
  • An external LED to show the status of the operation at the moment.

The main questions I have for this are:

1. Am I using the correct GPIO pins from ESP? I came to know that not all ESP pins are created equal. This is the board I'm using. Data Sheet, Internal Schematic. This is the A4988 chip I'm using.
  2. Are the decoupling capacitors placed correctly and with correct capacitance?
  3. I'm planning on using only one power source to power the whole project, am I using the buck converter correctly to power the 5V devices?
  4. The A4988, and other components run off of 3.3V ESP output, is that okay?
  5. The LED, switches, etc I plan to set up using INPUT_PULLUP or INPUT_PULLDOWN and I haven't connected any external ones, is that okay or do I need some 220Ω resisistors?
  6. The ground I read that needs to be common across the circuit, I assume there shouldn't be a problem with connecting the devices directly to the 12V ground if they're being powered 5V power from after the buck conversion?
  7. Any other tips/mistakes?

Thanks a lot!

There's no serial resistor to the IO27 pin. 220 ohm....

1 Like

Hi,
Welcome to the forum.