What does "60%" on solder mean?

I have an old roll of solder- not sure of its provenance, probably belonged to my late father in law- and it's marked 60%.... what does that mean?- Something to do with its composition I guess- lead?

Corollary to that: I have a reasonable soldering station (no name, Chinese, but seems pretty good) with adjustable temp. For that solder, is there a recommended temp?

(I've been soldering since about 1962 when I dropped hot solder on my bare leg, so I know it's hot but never really thought about the actual temperature. My late Dad had an Adcola back in the day...)

And final question: if I were to go buy a new roll of solder today, what should I ask for in terms of composition and what temp would that be soldered at?

Edit.... I suppose I should have Googled first... 60% is 60/40 lead/tin and i melts at 360.

I think solder used to be, or still is, 60% tin, 40% lead.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Solder#Lead_solder

JimboZA: I have an old roll of solder-

May want to send it off to a recycler. Acid core is not too good for irons, electronics, everything except old plumbing. Unless you know it to be rosin core (or can find a way to test from the Great and Wise Gorcle) best not to ruin the hobby things.

And final question: if I were to go buy a new roll of solder today, what should I ask for in terms of composition and what temp would that be soldered at?

Lead or lead-free?

Ok so seems the 60/40 comp is probably still the case, but the rosin vs acid core is the thing to watch?

The old roll doesn't say either way, so it probably pre-dates the time the rosin core came in....

Maybe I should just get a new roll.