WS2811 - 5V or 12V

Hi, I'm quite new to the world of arduino and addressable leds so need some guidance please.

I'm going to get some WS2811 leds, I'm looking to have about 80 connected BUT I intend to spread them out over about 25 meters so I will be extending the distance between each LED ( probably about 300mm between leds )

Would I be better getting 5v or 12v.

Would I be right in thinking a arduino would not be able to power all these on it's own. Also would I need to power the led string in more than 1 place.

Note : I haven't actually got an arduino yet, so may need some advice on which one to get at a latter stage.

Regards

Usually, when using 12V, you cannot individually control each led. Only each group of 3 can be controlled. The 3 LEDs in a group always have the same colour/brightness because they are controlled by the same chip. This also means that there are more wires between each group of 3 LEDs and their chip than the normal 5V, ground & data.

You don't say what kind of package you plan to use. Ws2811 are available as strips and as strings. The strings are 5V as far as I know. The strips are normally 12V, although it may be possible to find 5V strips also, but in that case you might as well get ws2812. If you get the 12V ws2812 strip, you can only cut the strip at the marked points, after every 3rd led.

There is no point thinking about what type of Arduino to get later. You need one to test the LEDs before you wire them into some project. You don't want to do that first and then find you have a dud led somewhere.

Correct, you will need a separate power supply for the LEDs. An Arduino can only power perhaps 8 or 10 LEDs through usb or its regulator (and only then if the input voltage is 6.5-7.5V, not 9V or 12V).