atmega328 wont power on unless it has had power in last 7 seconds.

I put my project on a breadboard. This is the first time not using the arduino development board. I had a project that I was happy with on the development board. Now that it is on a breadboard I am having funny results.

If the batteries have not been connected to the device in the last 7 seconds nothing happens. If i disconnect and plug it back in it runs fine. wait 8 seconds before connecting it back in and it wont power up.

I am not good with electronics but it sounds like a cap problem. I have used various values for the decoupling capacitors with no luck tho.

Here is a schematic of my setup. Sorry for the quality. I made it in mspaint real fast and im not good at designing them but it should get the message across.

Anyone else ever have this problem?

In general, that looks OK to me. I build similar circuits all the time. When I build that out, I put .1uF on both supply pins and also bypass the aref (pin 21) to ground with a .1uF cap. That probably isn’t killing you, though. The regulator you use is good for 200 mA the datasheet says. Is that powering just the 328 or are you powering everything with it? Any possibility the OLED and radio together might pull too much current and drag the voltage down? Have you tried applying a multimeter or scope to the voltage rail and see what it looks like when it powers up?

How I do a 328P on a breadboard:

ATMega328PBreadboardCircuit.jpg

I would agree with Joe. It is likely a power sequencing issue. When all else fails, try removing a single component (OLED, NRF24L01, etc.) to see if it otherwise powers up correctly. There are sometimes components that get picky on how they power on--some might lock up if knifed on.

Also, I'd put a decent cap across the NRF24L01.