Banggood CNC3018 Pro connection

First, I apologize for posting a "project" issue. Second, I've retired out of tinkering, but I was a PIC guy, not an Arduino guy, so my brain is used to other things.

I bought one of those cheap $159 CNC machines, and the mechanical assembly went fine (I'm a hardware engineer, after all), but I'm stymied at that point. I've installed the CH340 driver and tried several programs to talk to the silly thing. I've tried 9600 and 115K (setting the rate in both the device manager and the GrplControl program, and neither does more than crash. I've got a Serial Port monitor attached, and it looks like 115K at least does something, although it looks like there might be some speed issues since the recorded data is often misspelled.

Right after connecting, the outbound stream sends an 0x18, and it gets back "Grpl v0.9 ($ for help)". Hitting any of the motion buttons does nothing, even though they are highlighted (and the status shows "connected"). At one point, I was seeing a "?" being sent with a string returning that looked like the coordinates status. That was just before the app crashed.

I've also tried UGS, and there's no improvement. I haven't sniffed that one since I didn't expect much to change.

First, does the Arduino typically auto-baud, or should I expect a fixed rate? Also, is there flow control available on the USB/Serial connection? Any ideas what I should look for to get past my wall?

I'm familiar with all the high end stuff needed to generate my NC files. I've used Acad all my life, and I have a 3D printer that works just fine. You get what you pay for, I guess. My wife just wanted me to make her some ID tags...

Using PUTTY, I talked with the CNC with some simple commands, and it seems to be responding perfectly. Pretty much makes it look like software compatibility with Windows 10 or something. Pardon my wasting everyone's time, although I'll still accept suggestions. I suppose it could still be flow control.