Boost gauge!

Heyo! first post here so excuse me please for any non-sense, and be a tad kinder please! thankkss!

SO lets get on with it. By day, i'm a student studying computer programming and know my programming side of Arduino well, but I'm starting a project for my car(a 2004 Saab 9-5 Arc) that I'd like to put a boost gauge on, the OBD2 way is to easy, and lacks the quickness of actual sensors.

I found this: http://cstark27.blogspot.com/2012/05/prototype-1.html For a 2004 WRX. Though it(in theory) would work, my car likes to constantly pull around -18In/hg vacuum, and 22PSI of boost at peak, going far beyond the sensor provided. I found this: http://goo.gl/ltKcdB And I think it would cover the spectrum I need. Anyone know? as far as calculating PSI, what should the equation be?

Other thing is: How would we add in a barometer to measure atmospheric pressure for the most accurate readings.

Note: For me, if i have the equations i can transfer them to code easy, I'm just at a loss of what sensor combination to use. Overall, I have a budget of 100$ for everything, I already have a soldering iron, Solder and wick.

• Scott

SO after digging around for a while, still stumped on what MAP sensor to use that would cover the range i am looking for

though I did discover that using the Barometric sensor serial(https://www.sparkfun.com/products/11824) puts out kPa and then using some maths move it to PSI to deduct from the absolute MAP sensor value.

Anyone?

That honeywell sensor you posted should work, it just has a funny form for an automotive sensor, unless you mount it on a board and run a vacuum line to it. 60 psi less ~14psi of atmosphere should get you 46 psi of boost, plenty of range. I still have a hard time belive a saab boosts to 22psi...

It looks like the transfer function is just linear based on pressure min, pressure max and supplied voltage to the sensor. Have you played with it like that?