Controlling 5 axis CNC using arduino uno

Hi everyone! I'm new to arduino and I found myself in a project that is challenging to me. The project is converting a mill into a 5 axis cnc and controlling all 5 steppers using arduino. I did some research online and watched a few tutorials and I believe I understand how to control 3 steppers using grbl. A friend is sending me an arduino uno with a CNC shield (not grbl but grbl compatiple) and 4 stepper controllers. The CNC shield has 4 spots for controllers labeled X, Y, Z, A. So I assume with that shield I can control 4 axis. ( Normal X Y Z and the rotational A axis). The setup has to be able to understand g code of course and I assume it will need to control all steppers simultaneously. Also, in the future I plan on installing optical sensors on the stepper shafts to monitor the position, making it a closed loop system. Meaning that if a stepper misses a step the sensor will pick it up and make sure all the steps are completed. So I need my setup to have the capability to do that. Now I have a few questions.

1. How would I wire a fifth stepper? Also what other hardware would I need? And is this even possible using arduino uno? A friend (not a reliable one) mentioned that I can "stack" the shields giving me the ability to control 8 steppers.

2. What software or code do I need for arduino to understand g code for 5 axis? I heard that grbl can only control/understand only 3 steppers. And I also heard that it can only control one stepper at a time. If that is the case, is there something else I can use?

3. I'm having trouble finding a good 5 axis CAM software for generating toolpath and g code. I would love one that works with solidworks... Anything in mind?