Controlling a digital and analogue servo with one arduino uno

Hi everyone,

I am a novice that has just started. I would like to know if is possible to control a digital and analogue servo's rotation with one arduino uno. I saw that digital servos usually operate at a higher frequency than analogue servos and was unsure if there would be issues

Kind Regards
Johan

Hi, @johan09
Welcome to the forum.

Please read the post at the start of any forum , entitled "How to use this Forum".

I think you will find that you control either servo the same way and you can control more than one servo with an Arduino controller.

The digital reference is to how the motor of the servo is driven by the servos internal motor driver, the input servo controlling signal is still the same.

Tom... :grinning: :+1: :coffee: :australia:

Not always. Some digital servos accept a higher frequency of the pulses than every 20-22 milliseconds to achieve a higher repsonsiveness. (10-11 milliseconds).

Anyway these digital servos should work with the standard 20 milliseconds frequency. For downwards compatibility.

If it doesn't accept the standard 20 millisconds it will be possible to program a higher frequency. As long as you don't want to have 3 or or even more servos each supplied with a different frequency it will be possible to do that.

best regards Stefan

@TomGeorge Thank you for the response and apologies for not reading the forum, I will do so going forward.

Dear Stefan

Thanks for the response. If possible, can you elaborate further on the 1st paragraph? Is it that a digital servo can receive shorter length pulses compared to an analog servo? or that if one were to send the same signal length to both an analog and digital servo, the digital servo would somehow output shorter pulses like the image below and move faster?

Hi,
What is the source of the diagram?
Can you post a link to the article please?

Thanks.. Tom... :grinning: :+1: :coffee: :australia: