Filtered PWM to drive a MOSFET

Hello,

A while ago, before I knew anything, I built a circuit to drive a 4 amp maximum load using Arduino's PWM, which was in turn varied by a PID controller. I used a MOSFET, and filtered the gate input with a LPF with a 3dB point of around 2 hz. I didn't know anything about transistors at this point, but it seems to work ok. I am currently studying MOSFETS, though, and it occurred to me that the filter is perhaps ruining the PID response around the target value, since the device is going to be stuck in the saturation region unless the pwm is off for a while...the low 3db point of the LPF means a high time constant, so a slow decay, so im thinking that the MOSFET is probably staying on the whole time that the PID is trying to maintain a constant value. Does this thinking make sense? I don't have the opportunity to mess with it for a while, but while i'm studying MOSFETs this weekend, I figured I'd throw this thought out there to see if anyone has any insight.

Thanks for your time.

So you’re keeping the “MOSFET” (some old high-VGS HEXFET?) biased in the linear region as a variable load?
I was reading a manufacturer’s note that the industry trend (production focus) is higher-current (ID, low-VGS designs, which don’t lend themselves to such applications.

If it was a bipolar emitter-follower (as a pass transistor), either the input or the output could be conditioned (filtered, smoothed, etc).
With a FET, I think I’d be better off PWMing the gate and conditioning the output.

The charge delay and discharge hold-up have to be taken into account in your PID application (calculations) certainly.

What load is the mosfet controlling, and what is the application? What sort of response time do you want from the controller?

Hello Mr_F,
You wrote: “the device is going to be stuck in the saturation region unless the pwm is off for a while.”