homemade pulse sensor for detecting hartbeat?

Hi guys! I do not know if this is the right place for this type of question, but I try! I'm trying to buid an homemade pulse sensor, following the schematics in this webpage

http://makezine.com/projects/ir-pulse-sensor/

As you can see, the device is very simple and done with common electronics: some capacitors, some resistences, etc. It is a very nice sensor, as shown in the video. Obviously, I write here because I built it........ but it does not work!!!! I double checked with other people (expert in electronics) if my wiring is correct, and it seems so. I suspect there is some mistake in the electronic diagrams in teh webpage, but I'm not an expert in electronics and so I cannot debug it. The webpage furnish both Arduino code (very simple), and the Processing code for visualisation.

I was wondering if some willing guy is going to build it, test it, and find and fix the bug!!! If this is the case, I will be extremely happy to share with the community the right schematics of this sensor. Thanks a lot!!!! Valerio

Dont these usually shine the IR LED THROUGH the fingernail, causing an increase in absorption if there is blood in the finger tip?

The reflecting IR seems like a very low signal/noise to be anywhere near reliable or even produce a signal.

The article gets a few things wrong and isn't very complete.

That is not a photodiode, it is a phototransistor. I'm going by what Radio Shack's website says about that pair:

http://www.radioshack.com/product/index.jsp?productId=2049723

What parts are -you- using? The most critical parts are in that set of IR LED and IR phototransistor. Any substitution of the phototransistor is likely to prevent it from working.

Can you measure the voltage at the bottom of the 39k resistor with a fingertip on top of the LED and phototransistor? It should be somewhere between 1 and 5V when your finger is on top of the LED and phototransistor.