How to create a Wireless RF circuit activated by an ultrasonic sensor for interesting project?

Hi all,

Please help, I want to use 2 Arduinos with a 433MHz RF wireless transmitter/receiver module which will sense when a bird is on a perch. Basically I have a bird that visits my garden everyday and likes me to feed him, he arrives on a perch in my garden at various points throughout the day and if I'm not looking out the window i wont know he is there. I want to make a project where I can have an ultrasonic sensor (or any other better detection sensor detect the bird when it is on it's perch which will then send a signal to an LED and buzzer which will alert me that he is there so I can feed him!

I have watched lots of online Youtube tutorials on using a 433MHz RF wireless transmitter/receiver module but none of them in this type of set up, I'm fairly new to Arduino but have played around with it a lot with basic circuits. I know I will need probably need to download the radiohead library, but i don't really know how to set this up and code it, can anybody help or direct me to a online video or YT video for help?

Thank you in advance

Just set up separate sketches, one for ultrasonic detection that you think might detect a bird. Another one to transmit a message. Troubleshoot both and then combine them in one sketch with this logic:

repeat {
check US
if (US bird criteria met) {
  send 433MHz message
  }
}

If you have trouble combining the sketches, post them here.

Both the RadioHead library and the Ultrasonic library have documentation and example sketches to get you started.

Do yourself a big favour and learn to work without depending on YT etc. for help. The average quality of information on there is very poor.

1 Like

It may be that the sensor will detect any movement say from surrounding plant or animal life.
I'd be sorting that out first up.

Another avenue is to use ML and a ESP32-CAM to actually detect its a bird.