IC version of a relay

OK... this is the dilema... I want to control something via an arduino, and it's basically replacing the buttons that ground an internal signal. As an electrician, my mind automatically goes to relays, but the problem is the relays that I find are big and bulky, which is great for mains electricity, but not for a small signal being sent to ground; it's just not practical.

So, is there small IC version of a relay, where I input a signal from an arduino, and this closes a secondary circuit as if it were a simple switch? It doesn't matter if it is a multiple "switch" IC, as I want it to control a total of seven buttons.

I've been googling for days, not finding what I am looking for except for those huge relays, and 7 of those for a tiny signal, it's not very practical to say the least!!

Thank you!!

Describe the signal: AC or DC, maximum voltage and current.

What sort of "internal signal"? Internal to what? Voltage/current/impedance/frequency? Details are often important.

For some applications a simple transistor might be what you need or even just a connection to an Arduino digital pin. Or there are hundreds of different types of IC switches in all sorts of configurations.

Steve

It really depends on the kind of signal that is involved.
In some cases, the smallest solution is using a single optocoupler. This requires that the signal be DC and can tolerate the slight voltage drop.
In other cases, using a transistor as a switch is kind of a big deal and replaced electromechanical relays and vacuum tubes.
The relays you're talking about are probably the cheap big blue box types. Raw relays come in much smaller sizes but you'll probably have to make your own circuit to control them.

It all depends on the signal and it's your job to figure out its characteristics. AC or DC, voltage, current, duration/timing, etc. Once you know those, you'll know your options.