max7219 code problem

I'm creating a project using 7-segment displays and the max7219. To test the 7219, which I've never used before, I wrote a simple program to increment a number and output to the display every 20ms. My problem is that at 800 the program stops. Any ideas on why this happens? It doesn't matter if I start at zero or 500 or 750, it always stops after 800. Here's the code and a link to the video.

http://youtu.be/CVRvgKvepLs

#include "LedControl.h"
LedControl lc=LedControl(12,11,10,1);

int delayTime = 20;
int tick = 500;

void setup(){
  lc.shutdown(0,false);
  lc.setIntensity(0,8);
  lc.clearDisplay(0);
}

void loop(){
    int thousands, hundreds, tens, ones;
    thousands = tick/1000;
    hundreds = tick/100;
    hundreds = hundreds - ((hundreds/10)*10);
    tens = tick/10;
    tens = tens - ((tens/10)*10);
    ones = tick - ((tick/10)*10);

if(tick >= 1000){
      lc.setDigit(0,3,thousands,true);
    }
    if(tick >= 100){
      lc.setDigit(0,2,hundreds,true);
    }
    if(tick >= 10){
      lc.setDigit(0,1,tens,true);
    }
    lc.setDigit(0,0,ones,true);

tick++;
    delay(delayTime);
}

Sorry about that old chap, but I simply cannot replicate your problem (using a Pro Mini, which should be equivalent, and different pin connections).

Just for fun I ran it with five digits (note, actually a matrix display) and it seems to have jammed on the number “32760” which is of course, (more or less) the maximum value of a 16 bit signed integer.

But according to your video, it reaches “800” and then the display disappears.

I have to conclude that there is some glitch somewhere, but not in the code you gave.

I would suggest two experiments. Try pulling it down and re-wiring it, and/ or try my code to see where it gets to:

#include "LedControl.h"

int delayTime = 20;
int tick = 500;

void setup(){
  lc.shutdown(0,false);
  lc.setIntensity(0,8);
  lc.clearDisplay(0);
}

void loop(){
    int tenthou, thousands, hundreds, tens, ones;