OLED problems

I'm pretty new to this so please bear with me. I got my hands on a 128x64 OLED display which can be used for either SPI or IIC communication. I opted to go with IIC as it requires less hookup, and downloaded two libraries from here:

https://github.com/adafruit/Adafruit_SSD1306

and

https://github.com/adafruit/Adafruit-GFX-Library

I installed the libraries and loaded up the example for 128x64 IIC. It compiled and uploaded to the Arduino (UNO by the way) fine, but nothing is happening on the display. My hookup is as follows:

GND - GND VCC - 5V RST - D4 SDA - A4 SCA - A5

There's still a D/C pin on the display that is unused, but based on the stuff I've read online, it's not required. Can anybody give me a hand in getting this thing going? Thanks.

Bump

There are pull-up resistors for SDA and SCA?

Also provide a link to the datasheet of the module (mainly to check if it is an Adafruit module or not): Regarding I2C there are two variants and only one of this hardware variants will work with the Adafruit libs. U8glib supports both hardware variants (see the topmost entry on the U8glib gallery page: http://code.google.com/p/u8glib/wiki/gallery)

From a software point of view I can only speak on U8glib...

Oliver

SDA/SCA are the data lines for IIC aren’t they? So I didn’t think they would need pull up resistors. I can’t find a datasheet for the exact model I have, but I could provide pictures if that would help…

The I2C bus requires pullups, 4k7 nominal.

I got it sort of working with pull-ups and this code right here:

#include <Adafruit_ssd1306syp.h>
#define SDA_PIN 8
#define SCL_PIN 9
Adafruit_ssd1306syp display(SDA_PIN,SCL_PIN);
void setup()
{
  delay(1000);
  display.initialize();
}
void loop()
{
  display.drawLine(0, 0, 127, 63,WHITE);
  display.update();
  delay(1000);
  display.clear();
  display.setTextSize(1);
  display.setTextColor(WHITE);
  display.setCursor(0,0);
  display.println("HelTec Automation");