Researching Ground Plane is giving me a headache!

Hi all,

I'm an electronics Noob with a project that I'm ready to move to PCB.

I have a working Breadboard and also stripboard version.

Simple question with what appears to be no simple answer that I can find:

With a 2 layer PCB with through hole components should I have a ground plane on:

a) The same layer as the majority of the signal traces b) The opposite layer c) Both.

My project is quite simple with the following major components:

1. Arduino Pro Mini 5v
  2. DS3231 RTC (I2c)
  3. 1602 LCD
  4. 3xAAA batteries.
  5. Momentary switch.

I use PWM and a capacitor instead of a pot to control contrast of the LCD. I mention this in case it would be classed as a mixed signal (digital and analog) situation.

I have read a lot but it seam the more I read the more complicated this subject gets. I suspect that my project would (and indeed it appears to) work perfectly well without a ground plane. But I would like my design to be close to best practice where appropriate.

Any help or pointers anyone has would be great.

If you were making the board , sounds like you could get away with no ground plane and just use SS PCB material. Depending on the noise environment, the frequencies on the the board, digital and analog components and complexity are some of the reasons to use a ground plane. If you were going to a board shop, the cost of a ground plane is very small if any. Usually the ground plane is on the top/component side of a board, however, some consider free space on both sides should be GND. Also, more ground plane less etching ;)

Don't make the noob mistake of allowing solder connects directly on the ground plane. Allow thermal isolation from the connects to the plane, so you won't go nuts hand soldering it (or reworking it, if it is ovened).

A mistake that many people who should know better, make.

Thermal relief.

LarryD: Thermal relief. .

Language.

:art:

Thermal relief