RGB led astable circuit

Hi,

probably everyone knows astable multivibrator circuit, using two transistors, two capacitors and some resistors.

I would like to light RGB led and make it cycle through “rainbow” colors by using triple astable circuit. The problem is that I don’t know how to design it to work (I’m not experienced enough to understand principles).

Could somebody help me and design this kind of circuit? Less parts = better, but I need to be minimalistic, that means probably no IC. The whole thing should fit 2.5 x 3.5 cm PCB, ideally with battery CR2032 and LED.

Any help is greatly appreciated!

Edit: Added image of the proposed (by me) circuit. I have nothing better to draw it at the moment, I’m sorry :blush:

rgb_astable_circuit.PNG

To get a continuous varying signal you will have to tap the voltage directly at one of the capacitors. But this will take charging current away from it so you need to buffer it by using a transistor in the emitter follower mode. Connect the base via a resistor to the capacitor, the collector to the + supply and emitter to the anode of the LED with the cathode to ground.

Grumpy_Mike: Well, I don't understand that much. I knowh how emitter follower circuit looks like, butI don't know how to adapt it.

I will add image of "my proposed circuit" to the first post right after sending this. Could you please comment it and/or draw EF into it?

Just to add - I saw the kind of circuit (on the image in the first post) working ~10 years before, but there was fourth capacitor, bt I don't know where in the circuit. That fourth capacitor madeone color to fade more quickly than the others.

It does help it you don’t edit the original post as it makes subsequent replies make less sense.

everyone knows astable multivibrator circuit

Everyone except you apparently. That is not a multivibrator, a multivibrator looks like the attached photograph.