Run 12V through a MCP4151 Pot?

Hi All,

I am using a Mega 2560 and bluetooth to control a MCP4151 Digitial Potentiometer. I have a MCP4151 and a HC-05 (Bluetooth board) on a breadboard, with power coming from the Arduino.

Using this set up, the MCP4151 can provide 1.8V to 5.0V (for some reason, it doesn't go to 0?) but I need to be able to provide 0-12V.

I am not very good with electrical stuff, so I am trying to figure out how I would provide 12V power to the MCP4151 to be able to output up to 12V.

I currently have the following wire setup:

• Pin 1 -> Arduino Pin 53
  • Pin 2 -> Arduino Pin 52
  • Pin 3 -> Arduino Pin 51
    *Pin 4 -> Breadboard Negative
    *Pin 5 -> Breadboard Positive
    *Pin 6 -> Output (Hydraulic Flow Valve)
    *Pin 7 -> Breadboard Negative
    *Pin 8 -> Breadboard Positive.

Would it be as simple as changing Pins 5 and 8 to a 12V supply, and Pins 4 and 7 to the Negative of that supply?

Thanks in advance.

MCP4151 Data Sheet

This project is far too customized and particular, to rely on pin lists for a description. Please provide a wiring diagram of all your wiring, and since you say you're not very good with electrical stuff, also close up images of your wiring.

https://forum.arduino.cc/t/how-to-get-the-best-out-of-this-forum/679966

"The language of electronics is a schematic or circuit diagram. Long descriptions of what is connected to what are generally useless. A schematic is a drawing of what connects to what; please make one and photograph it. We don't mind if it's hand drawn, scruffy and does not use the correct symbols. Please don't post Fritzing diagrams. They may look nice but they are very easy to misinterpret."

I don't have any wiring diagrams, nor do I know how to make them. I didn't think it would be necessary though as the only thing I need to know is where to provide 12V to the MCP4151 to get the Output I need.
The LED in these pictures was for testing purposes only.

Then how did you build the circuit?