Sharing a button with another controller that reads 12V signals.

For a vehicle simulator project, I want to use an Arduino to read input from an existing light switch in a (unpowered) car. At the same time, a collaborator who is preparing the car itself, would like the button to send a 12V signal to be read by the existing light-controller which in turn activates the real car lights.

Other than having completed the very basic Arduino tutorials, I’m an absolute beginner in electronics in general. I’ve attached a naive diagram of the situation, which would probably fry the arduino. So my two specifiq question to this situation are:

Question 1: is it reasonable to power the Adruino with a 12V power supply and use VIN pin as a source for the 12V signal?

Question 2: what are ways to convert the 12V signal to a safe 5V signal for the Arduino? Or would it make more sense to somehow stretch a 5V signal on the way to the light controller?

It would be great if you could help me on how to approach this. Thanks!

oneButtonTwoDifferentVoltageSignals.jpg

aaronateo:
Question 1: is it reasonable to power the Arduino with a 12V power supply and use Vin pin as a source for the 12V signal?

No, Certainly not in a car. Use a switchmode "buck" converter rated up to at least 30 V to provide 5 V regulated power to feed in the "5V" pin. :sunglasses:

aaronateo:
Question 2: what are ways to convert the 12V signal to a safe 5V signal for the Arduino?

Input02.png

Thank you! I will investigate into buck converters and will probably try it out with a small prototype soon.
As far as I understand, your diagram shows a voltage divider and is not using a buck converter, right?
And for the input I need to think of another power source than the Arduino to get the 12V signal?