Switched from Easy Driver to Big Easy Driver - now my optical sensor misfires

Hi. I’m pretty new to all of this. Here’s the story:

I’m building an Arduino driven pickup winder. The idea of the design is to sync a stepper to a separate spinning driveshaft.

I have a DC motor turning shaft with faceplate on the end of it. I’m using an IR LED and a photo transistor that reads a painted black and white cross to monitor the speed and number of turns of the driveshaft. I have an attachInterrupt that tells the stepper to advance 1 increment each time the white and black transitions. The average working speed of the DC motor will be about 1000rpm

Originally, I built the machine using an Easy Driver, and it worked. But the stepper wasn’t quite strong enough to reliably turn the gearbox I built for the machine. So I got a 2A stepper and a Big Easy Driver.

What happened was really strange - now the optical transistor is seems to be sensing each transition from both light to dark and dark to light firing the attachInterrupt twice as often as it should! When I disconnect the Big Easy Driver, my optical sensor works perfectly.

Anyway here’s my current code I managed to cobble together. The only difference between the two is that I added the MS3 pin for 1/16 steps.

#include <Adafruit_GFX.h>
#include <Adafruit_PCD8544.h>

const int buttonPin = 2;

// pin 7 - Serial clock out (SCLK)
// pin 6 - Serial data out (DIN)
// pin 5 - Data/Command select (D/C)
// pin 4 - LCD chip select (CS)
// pin 3 - LCD reset (RST)
Adafruit_PCD8544 display = Adafruit_PCD8544(7, 6, 5, 4, 3);

#define step_pin 9   // Pin 9 connected to Steps pin on EasyDriver
#define dir_pin 8    // Pin 8 connected to Direction pin
#define MS1 10       // Pin 10 connected to MS1 pin
#define MS2 11       // Pin 11 connected to MS2 pin
#define MS3 13
#define SLEEP 12     // Pin 12 connected to SLEEP pin

//int ledPin = 13;
volatile byte windState = 0; // varible that will hopefully advance the stepper