Using MAX7219 and MXA002 LED Seven-Segment

Greetings Everyone!

After wrapping up a 40-year career in mainframe programming, I'm just learning how to use micro processors. I've had pretty good success so far with Arduino, but I've run into a brick wall on the current project. I would surely appreciate any help you experts could give me!

I've got a Nano Mega328 feeding SPI commands to a MAX7219 mux LED driver. The setup runs a small 4-digit display perfectly, (COTCO LD2-BW30GU-C11).

My problem is trying to drive a larger 5" display (MAXX MXA002) which needs 12 volt. I have the 5-to-12V converter board (MXA008) made by the same company.

While the COTCO display is scrolling numbers just fine, at the same time, the MAXX segments are all on at full brightness. There are some very slight intensity changes, as digits change on the COTCO display. (I'm only using one MXA002 digit to test.)

[Schematic below updated to show two caps and a resistor.]

Any suggestions? The manufacturer in Thailand was unable to help me.

The data sheets are pretty sketchy for the MAXX components:
MXA002: http://www.futurekit.com/2009/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=863&Itemid=272
MXA008: http://www.futurekit.com/2009/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=868&Itemid=272

If it helps, here's a short clip from a week ago when the COTCO display first went live

I would use SPI. 10, 11 and 13
You need the ground of the 12 V supply connected to the ground on the Arduino.
Your Arduino needs 5V not 6 V !. OK, sorry you have a nano

LarryD:
Your Arduino needs 5V not 6 V !. OK, sorry you have a nano

Equally true for Nano. 5.5V absolute max.

Where's your code ?
Did you see this ?

Palomar:
I've tried both common ground and separate ground. Makes no difference.