White Boxes Issue on LCD 1602

Hello everyone, I have searched through the depths of arduino forums and have not stumbled across one that directly addresses my issue. I am new to Arduino and am trying to set up a standard 1602 LCD on my board. I have set up all the wiring correctly and have a back light but for some reason my LCD only shows white boxes in the top row. I have ran every code imaginable and can only get the same white boxes. I read somewhere else that this is a sign that the LCD module is a dud. Is this true? I just purchased this an hooked it up so its unlikely that i did anything to fry/ damage the LCD in any way.

Thanks for any help.

I have attached a picture of the white boxes on my display.

(deleted)

You need to solder the header to the LCD pads before you can expect the LCD to work. As is, there is no solid contacts from the Arduino to the LCD.

How to post an image so that we don't have to download it.

groundFungus:
You need to solder the header to the LCD pads before you can expect the LCD to work.

Ah yes, that old furphy!

Why does it not work? Because you did not actually connect it! :astonished:

Makes sense. Any tips for soldering the pins? I am pretty good at soldering electronics but have never soldered a header to a board.

Thx

Plug the male header into a female header (or breadboard*) before you try to solder it. The female header will stabilize the pins on the male header and keep them in line while soldering.

• I don't like using a breadboard for this as it can damage the breadboard, but if that is what you have, just be careful with the heat.

Ok, great. I’ll update once I have it done.

Ok, so I soldered the header onto the pins. Its a little ugly but they’re all connected fully aren’t touching each other. I now have the full screen covered in boxes. My code is the generic Hello world code which i have listed below:

#include <LiquidCrystal.h>

// initialize the library with the numbers of the interface pins