Driving 4 8x8 RGB led matrices with Nano

Hello!

Sorry if the questions seems asinine, but as I'm relatively inexperienced with hardware, I'm not sure how to tackle this problem and how feasible is this task.

Basically I would like to create a clock by using 4 RGB LED 8x8 matrices( such as http://www.ebay.com/itm/Matrix-8x8-RGB-LED-Full-Color-Dot-Square-Display-Common-Anode-Arduino-60x60mm-/380944937099?pt=AU_B_I_Electrical_Test_Equipment&hash=item58b216708b ) and an Arduino Nano. The problem is that the solutions I found are either expensive (Colorduino) or not really applicable like the led matrix driver shields, which are meant for a single matrix.

So my question is if somehow doing this, for example, with shift registers (with whom I have no experience yet), is really feasible? Does the Nano even have enough pinouts for this task? Would there be power supply problems with this many LEDs?

The problem with shift registers is that really you are not going to be able to take advantage of PWM dimming of the LEDs so you will end up with one of eight colors - black, white, Red, Green, Blue, R+G, R+B, B+G, which is not very satisfying. The way most people here solve this problem is by using a many-channel PWM controller like the Texas Instruments TLC5940 which is a 16 channel controller. Your matrix has 24 channels, so you need one and a half ICs for each matrix. So you need 6 ICs for this application. You also need something to select the row and source a lot of current into the selected row (the TLC5940 will sink this current). The way most people here solve this problem is by using a high-side switch like a PNP transistor or p-channel MOSFET. You will need 8 pins to control the rows (or 3 if you multiplex it) and 5 pins to control the TLC5940 driver chain. This architecture will scale out to a lot more than 4 RGB displays if you choose to make a bigger one someday.