Perf board wiring, solid core or stranded?

So, I'm planning to build a fairly complex project on a perf board (hundreds of connections). I'm wondering do people prefer to use solid core or stranded wire with a perf board?

I don't have much experience working with perf boards (mostly done custom PCBs myself so far) and was thinking that perf boards would be better choice for more permanent prototypes than breadboards.

Just like to hear some opinions before I spend cash on a few hundred meters of wire :slight_smile:

http://forum.arduino.cc/index.php/topic,62942.0.html

I would tend to use solid core wire for interconnections that do not have to flex. The wires will tend to stop where they are put.
Connections into and out of the board I would use multi stranded wire as they will flex more.

It depends whether you need to stick two things in the same hole. I have trouble getting sound connections with either.

I am by no means a solder expert, but I tend to prefer solid wires when I'm making permanent connections between the perfboard holes. I prefer stranded wire when I'm making a cable that one end attaches to the perfboard and the other connects to things off board, since stranded works better if the cable flexes, and you use crimp connectors to make custom cables.

Thanks for the comments! Consensus seems to be solid core wire then. I think I'm going to build a small test circuit with both types of wire before I'm going to buy lots of it :slight_smile:

Definitely solid core. Stranded is useless for pins that are close together, it splays out when you try to solder it and short-circuits everything in sight.

I use 30 AWG wire wrapping wire. 30 awg wire wrapping wire for sale | eBay

It comes in lots of colors and is just the right thickness. A pack like this would get you off to a good start.

You should probably get a wire wrap tool as well - if only for the little wire stripper in the handle.