seeking good study leads for Internet of Things

Hello, I am new to Arduino and have been learning to code and build needed circuitry to build a project I have in mind. To preface, I have an EtherMega from Freetronics, a single DHT22 temp/humidity sensor, a DS3231 Chronodot RTC and an 8 channel Sainsmart relay module. My project box is a 12" x 12" x 6" utility box I got from Home Depot and on the cover I have mounted 8 duplex outlets in 2 four gang boxes. On the underside are mounted 3 terminal bus bars to accept incoming AC mains power and distribute Neutral and Ground to each receptacle, and the hot leg routes to each of the 8 channels of the relay module before also terminating at the receptacles. Also from the face plate is a single male plug to receive project power via a heavy duty extension cord. Aside from the relay mounted with the AC mains, the DC side of the circuits are mounted to a piece of plexiglass that is covered with aluminum tape to hopefully quiet the lot of EMI noise produced from the AC switching.

My project in a nutshell will be an indoor garden/hydroponics controller that will share data to a web page and receive commands also from the same page. There will be code to handle the general program as I plot it out, but the website is to have “over ride abilities” making it the master and Arduino the slave, even though in most cases, the Arduino will operate according to the sketch.

I also recently purchased a domain name from a web hosting company (HostGator) and my site is a PHP. I began building the pages I wanted to build and found that experience to be relatively painless as a lot of it is point and click like microsoft word. However, it was my desire to build this project to begin with that lead me to purchase the website.