[SOLVED]Issue with turning on an LED light with Nano

Hello all, newbie here :slight_smile:

Im trying to move my build to a nano instead of an uno but have some issues. I got over all the driver set up to work with the IDE and got the built in LED to blink. When I try doing the same with a different LED - it doesn’t work and I am clueless :\ tried an online search but couldn’t find an answer so figured I could use the help here :slight_smile: TIA! :slight_smile:

void setup() {
  pinMode(3, OUTPUT);
}

void loop() {
  digitalWrite(3, HIGH);   
  delay(500);                    
  digitalWrite(3, LOW);    
  delay(500);                    
}

have you checked the LED anode and cathode are in the right orientation ?

the Anode (+) has a longer lead than the cathode

what resistance did you use?

Yes, and i tested with few LED’s that I know to be working. Using 220ohm resistor.

double check it’s 220Ω, can’t really tell the colors on the picture

Diodes allow current only to flow in one direction. Try turning the LED around.

yea, tried others too , just in case… any other ideas? wiring look ok otherwise?

double checked, longer side is on the red wire side.

just a doubt: it seems you did not solder all the headers… can you confirm?
the D3 and GND pins need to be soldered (at minimum)

(and there is a suspicious soldering job at pin D13 which appears to touch the 3.3V pin)

you are correct, I did not solder it all. Is that something that has to be done in order for it to work?
again, newbie here :slight_smile: I tried with a different nano that’s also not soldered (not even a few pins).

No worries, we all started as newbie :wink:

yes soldering is key otherwise you get a poor connection and the signal does not go through, or partly and you have a weird behavior

ok, ill try to get a hold on soldered ones since i have no idea actually how to do it myself (as you could tell :slight_smile: ) . This is my first time dealing with electronics and i winged it :X