why pwm seems weak when using laptop usb for powering arduino?

hello everyone, newbie here. i just start playing pwm function for my dc motor and i run into something that i cant understand.
here’s the thing i use:

1. arduino uno rev3
  2. l298n driver module
  3. 12v - 5v step down with usb output
  4. dc brushed motor
  5. 11v battery

so basically i split my 11v battery power to:

1. 12v input L298n driver
  2. 12v - 5v stepdown that i use to power the arduino

the rest is pretty much where it should be. for testing i only use one dc motor. the dc motor is freespinning without any load.
i use a simple code where it giving increasingly pwm 80,150,250, with 3000 delay in between.

but here’s what i didnt understand
when i use the stepdown to power my arduino, theres no noticeable speed different at given pwm number. in fact, it look like the motor are spinning full speed everytime.
is it because i didnt give load to the motor so it look like it spinning on full speed?

but when i use my laptop to power the arduino, theres noticeable speed different. but it seems very weak. even when pwm number is 80, the motor are hardly spinning.

Firstly never ever power a motor from the Arduino 5V, especially if the Arduino is powered from a computer's USB port. That can destroy the Arduino and the computer.

When you are using the 12V supply for the motor driver, the L298N will lose about 2.5V - so expect the performance as if the motor has 10V or so only.

The problem with speed control is I think because of the mode used. Probably fast decay mode given its an L298.

There are various modes for driving an H-bridge and and most do not exhibit linear behaviour.

Hey I was the guy on Quora who commented on your post earlier today.